Vaughn Ventus LT90 / Vision 9500 Chest Guard Comparison Review.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TG Jim

Vaughn Ventus LT90 / Vision 9500 Chest Guard Comparison Review.

This is a discussion on Vaughn Ventus LT90 / Vision 9500 Chest Guard Comparison Review. within the Equipment Reviews forums, part of the The Gear category; Hey Goalies, I’ve been receiving some PM’s since posting a picture of my Vaughn Ventus LT90 chest guard asking what ...

  1. #1
    Rookie TG Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Edina, MN
    Posts
    20
    Credits
    517

    Default Vaughn Ventus LT90 / Vision 9500 Chest Guard Comparison Review.

    Hey Goalies,

    I’ve been receiving some PM’s since posting a picture of my Vaughn Ventus LT90 chest guard asking what are the differences and improvements of this chest guard vs. the 9500 Vision from 2012, so I decided to make a quick ‘review’ about the new LT90 chest.




    Vaughn Ventus LT90 (White/Powder/Met Gold/Navy) vs. Vaughn 9500 (Black/Powder)

    The shoulder floater shape has been redesigned to be a bit wider and more square.

    Vaughn 9500 Shoulder Floater


    Vaughn LT90 Shoulder Floater



    The shoulder cap on the LT90 has been extended down further to cover the arm pit.


    Vaughn 9500 Shoulder Cap


    Vaughn LT90 Shoulder Cap




    The Sternum protector has been lengthened on the new LT90.

    Vaughn 9500 Sternum Protector


    Vaughn LT90 Sternum Protector




    The new LT90 has a removable cushion pillow behind the shoulder floater, like the Velocity line has.





    In addition, Vaughn has also added a much needed triceps protector to the arms.

    Vaughn 9500 triceps area (just aeromesh material)


    Vaughn LT90 triceps area (HD foam covered in aeromesh)



    I hope that answers some of your questions. Feel free to ask here or message me with any questions. I’ll try to update this in a few weeks after some more use.
    Last edited by TG Jim; 01-29-2013 at 05:22 PM.
    Big Red likes this.

  2. #2
    Veteran chuchu33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    652
    Credits
    3,932
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Not that I'd probably go back to Vaughn for my C/A but I'm glad they added the tricep guard. Did they beef up the internal tricep as well as the outside? I had the Vision 9400 before and I took a shot and squeezed it between my arm and ribs, and a few days later after the bruise settled in my arm looked like it had gangrene...

  3. #3
    Sophomore bfinelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bound Brook, NJ
    Posts
    70
    Credits
    1,396

    Default

    I have the Vision 9400 and I got a similar bruise. Shot just sneaked in under the pad and really bruised the crap outta my bicep. The new one looks nice though.

  4. #4
    Legend jeff da goalie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,575
    Credits
    15,039

    Default

    when is the ventus c/a going to be available?

  5. #5
    Rookie TG Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Edina, MN
    Posts
    20
    Credits
    517

    Default

    We can get them for you now, give me an email at JMartin@TotalHockey.com I'd be happy to help.

  6. #6
    Journeyman Thiazi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    122
    Credits
    1,423

    Default

    I picked up an LT90 C/A on Wednesday. My previous C/A was a large 2010 Epic 8800 Pro and I went to a medium LT90. Some of the differences could be attributed to wearing a better sized C/A for me, but I feel like the arms on the LT90 are a lot more mobile. I could reach further out to my side and move my arms a lot quicker than I could in the 8800. The rib protection appears to be beefed up over my 8800 and the shoulder and sternum protection is definitely improved. I did take a stinger to the stomach on Wednesday night, but I think I had the C/A strapped too tightly, so I didn't have an air gap between my body and the C/A to help deaden the shot. I'm going to adjust the strapping and loosen up the body a little more for my game on Sunday. Overall, it's a much bigger upgrade over the 8800 than I expected. It's extremely mobile the protection seems better and the one issue that I had so far should be easy to correct.

Similar Threads

  1. Reebok 11k Chest Guard Review
    By StaubersGC in forum Equipment Reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 02:35 PM
  2. Chest Protectors... Replacing a Vaughn Vision 5500.
    By wvuviv30 in forum Equipment Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-19-2012, 01:35 PM
  3. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 12:11 PM
  4. Vaughn Vision 9500 Senior Blocker
    By Admin in forum Equipment Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 12:25 PM
  5. Vaughn Vision 9500 Senior Leg Pad
    By Admin in forum Equipment Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 12:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27